Receiving the ISS…

Yup! Not only I could see a great nightly and visual pass of both Discovery and the ISS flying together for the last time over the place where I live, in the final days of mission STS-133 (some time after Discovery undocked from the ISS and after it did a flyaround of the station), but some time later, I was able to hear Paolo Nespoli, the Italian ESA astronaut who’s in the station in a long duration mission, talking to some students in Italian schools in two different contacts via the ham radio equipment installed in the Zvezda module in the Russian segment of the station. And the best part of it is that I was using no more than an ICOM IC-R5 radio scanner  (the same I use to listen to the local airport comm’s), an old dipole “rabbit ears”  TV antenna, and a pair of homemade adaptors (one for adapting the TV coaxial connector of the antenna to the SMA one in the scanner, and the other being a mono-stereo adaptor so that I could hear the sound in both ears when using headphones). I discovered I could listen to astronauts speaking from the ISS with my scanner not so much ago and the truth is that I’m enjoying this a lot, although for some days now the folks at the ISS have turned down the radio… not only in voice, but also in packet (data) and SSTV (“Slow Scan Television”, imagery)… hope they activate it again and I can hear something!

Here’s the video of the joint pass of Discovery and the ISS…

…and here’s the one for Nespoli’s radio contacts. The schools contacted were Istituto Comprensivo di Verano Brianza — Scuola Media, in Verano Brianza on 03/23/11 and Istituto Tecnico Industriale Statale “Leonardo da Vinci”, in Pratola Peligna on 04/02/11:

More details in the video descriptions. Regards! 😉

About raptor22stealth

Aviation, space and radio listening enthusiast!!!
This entry was posted in International Space Station, Satellites. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Receiving the ISS…

  1. I am curious to find out what blog system you happen
    to be utilizing? I’m having some minor security problems with
    my latest blog and I would like to find something more
    secure. Do you have any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

